News: Entdecken Sie die Medical Guidance Platform

Über Médis

Médis besteht seit über 20 Jahren und gehört zur Holdinggesellschaft Grupo Ageas Portugal. Zur Ergänzung seiner Krankenversicherungssparte bietet Médis seinen Kund:innen dank moderner Technologie persönlich zugeschnittene und innovative Zusatzdienste an.

Médis versteht es als seinen Auftrag, Kund:innen durch seinen Personal Health Service® eine herausragende, relevante Kundenerfahrung zu bieten. Kund:innen steht ein umfassendes Netz medizinischer Einrichtungen zur Verfügung, die Telemedizin und Online-Konsultationen in eine qualitativ hochwertige medizinische Versorgung integrieren.

  • 800.000 Patient:innen
  • 13.000 Ärzt:innen
  • 100 Krankenhäuser
  • 750 Apotheken
  • 1.000 Gesundheits- und Wellness-Partnerschaften

Die wichtigsten Herausforderungen

Médis

Médis versteht sich in erster Linie als persönlicher Gesundheitspartner seiner Kund:innen. Seit der Gründung vor über 20 Jahren werden Triage-Dienstleistungen zu Patientenbeschwerden angeboten. Bei der Umsetzung einer moderneren Lösung für die Triage-Prozesse waren zwei zentrale Herausforderungen zu bewältigen.

1. Verbesserung der Benutzerfreundlichkeit und Effizienz

Die vorherige Lösung im Médis-Servicecenter war zwar zuverlässig und klinisch robust, kam nach fast zwei Jahrzehnten im Einsatz jedoch langsam in die Jahre. Dadurch war es bisweilen schwierig bis unmöglich, das System an die Anforderungen seiner Anwender:innen, der Pflegekräfte im Médis-Servicecenter, anzupassen. Von der Verbesserung der Benutzererfahrung versprach sich Médis eine intensivere Nutzung des Tools durch die Mitarbeiter:innen.

2. Anpassung der klinischen Inhalte und Empfehlungen

Die Triage-Lösung, die Médis vorher im Einsatz hatte, basierte auf so genannten Entscheidungsbäumen – also einer vordefinierten Struktur. Das verkomplizierte das Aktualisieren von klinischen Inhalten und Empfehlungen. Da sich das verfügbare medizinische Wissen ständig ändert, ist es für eine klinische Triage-Lösung unerlässlich, dass sich Anpassungen möglichst einfach und nahtlos vornehmen lassen.

Infermedica

Infermedica will Benutzer:innen bei der bestmöglichen Versorgung unterstützen. Das Team arbeitet stetig daran, die Triage- und Empfehlungsfunktionen seiner KI-Plattform zu perfektionieren. Infermedica entwickelt laufend neue Funktionen und passt seine Produkte an die Anforderungen seiner Kund:innen an, die damit breitere Patientengruppen unterstützen können.

1. Kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Algorithmen

Die Lösung von Infermedica basiert auf maschinellem Lernen. Das bedeutet, dass die Algorithmen sich mit der Zeit selbst optimieren. Die Unterstützung durch Médis, einen starken Partner mit über zwei Jahrzehnten Erfahrung, verbesserte zusätzlich die Triage- und Empfehlungsfunktionen der KI. Davon profitierten beide Partner.

2. Erfüllung der Call-Center-Anforderungen

Vor der Partnerschaft mit Médis kam die Lösung von Infermedica schwerpunktmäßig als Symptom-Checker für Patient:innen zum Einsatz. Durch die Zusammenarbeit verstand das Entwicklerteam Abläufe in der Telemedizin besser. Es entwickelte Zusatzfunktionen und passte die Plattform an die Bedürfnisse medizinischer Call-Center an.

Die Lösung: Call Center Triage von Infermedica

Die Lösung von Infermedica ist ein leistungsstarkes, cloud-basiertes Tool, das künstliche Intelligenz nutzt, um den medizinischen und nicht-medizinischen Beratern zu helfen, die Kunden zu einer angemessenen und kosteneffizienten Versorgung zu führen. Die Plattform erlaubt die Anpassung der Triage-Logik und des Gesprächsprotokolls. So kann sie in unterschiedlichen Bereichen eingesetzt werden, etwa im Call-Center und in der Notaufnahme. Da Call Center Triage in Zusammenarbeit mit medizinischen Experten entwickelt wurde, sind die Ergebnisse und Empfehlungen verlässlich.

Das Ziel unserer Call Center Triage:

  • Unterstützung von Call-Center-Mitarbeiter:innen bei einer präzisen Ersteinschätzung und Vordiagnose von Patient:innen
  • Vermeiden unnötiger Besuche der Notaufnahme und persönlicher Arzttermine dank Empfehlung der am besten geeigneten Versorgung
  • Schnelle Identifizierung dringender Fälle
  • Standardisierung von Triage-Gesprächen

Call Center Triage im Praxiseinsatz

Im Rahmen der Partnerschaft zwischen Médis und Infermedica wurde eine neue Lösung für das Médis Clinical Contact Center entwickelt und implementiert. Diese Lösung basiert auf KI und maschinellem Lernen. Sie unterstützt Pflegekräfte von Médis über das gesamte Triage-Verfahren hinweg, von der Symptomerfassung bis hin zu klinischen Empfehlungen.


Hinweis: In den Abbildungen wurden keine realen Daten verwendet, sondern nur zufällig generierte Beispielwerte.

Ergebnisse und Vorteile der Implementierung für Médis

Seit der Implementierung des KI-Systems vor einem Jahr ist die Lösung von Infermedica bei etwa 24.000 Triage-Verfahren zum Einsatz gekommen. Dabei erkannte das Tool 99,4 % aller Kundensymptome. Call Center Triage ermöglicht die Direktanbindung an andere Services von Médis; die Lösung hilft außerdem, individuelle, auf die Kundenbedürfnisse zugeschnittene Pflegeleistungen bereitzustellen (z. B. eine Weiterleitung an Telemedizin-Angebote).

Das KI-Tool half, unnötige Besuche von Notaufnahmen zu vermeiden; zusätzlich konnten sich mehr Patient:innen selbst auskurieren. Darüber hinaus war Médis mithilfe der neuen klinischen Triage-Lösung in der Lage, die Benutzererfahrung für Pflegekräfte und Kund:innen deutlich zu verbessern.

17 %

8 %

Anteil der Fälle, in denen Anrufer:innen einen Besuch der Notaufnahme planten, im Vergleich mit dem Anteil der Fälle, in denen letztlich eine Notfallversorgung empfohlen wurde.


17 %

35 %

Anteil der Fälle, in denen Anrufer:innen eine Selbstbehandlung planten, im Vergleich mit dem Anteil der Fälle, in denen letztlich eine Selbstbehandlung empfohlen wurde.


24,000

abgeschlossene Triage-Verfahren mithilfe von Infermedica Call Center Triage


99,4 %

Anteil sämtlicher gemeldeter Kundensymptome, die vom Tool erkannt wurden


Ergebnisse der Partnerschaft

Implementierung einer technisch besseren Lösung

Dank maschinellem Lernen wird das Tool mit der Zeit immer besser und stellt genauere Vorschläge und Empfehlungen bereit. Zudem verbessert die neue Lösung das Benutzererlebnis für Médis Pflegekräfte.

Erweiterte Triage-Funktionen und Empfehlungen

Die Partnerschaft mit Médis ermöglichte es Infermedica, die Fähigkeit seiner Call Center Triage-Lösung zu erhöhen, um die richtigen Maßnahmen für bestimmte Symptome zu empfehlen. Das Team von Infermedica hat die Datenbank mit Risikofaktoren, Erkrankungen und Symptomen erweitert, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf der Pädiatrie liegt. Während des Projekts hat das medizinische Team von Infermedica mit Unterstützung von Médis etwa 200 medizinische Faktoren in die Datenbank, die das Herzstück des Systems von Infermedica ist, eingefügt und geändert.

Flexibilität und Integration

Für das Projekt musste das Implementierungsteam die Plattform immer wieder flexibel anpassen. Dies gelang den Partnern erfolgreich. Beispielsweise wurde ein separater Teilbereich für die Triage von pädiatrischen Fällen geschaffen. Darüber hinaus wurde die Plattform in die bestehenden IT-Systeme von Médis integriert.

Lassen Sie uns Ihre Herausforderungen gemeinsam besprechen

Füllen Sie das untenstehende Formular aus, um sich mit unserem Expertenteam über die Implementierung digitaler Primärversorgungslösungen zu unterhalten. Finden Sie den richtigen Weg zur Kostensenkung und Verbesserung der Patientenerfahrung mit unserer KI-gesteuerten digitalen Plattform.

Sie können Ihre Einwilligung jederzeit widerrufen. Die Daten aus dem Formular werden nur zu dem Zweck verwendet, der in den angekreuzten Feldern angegeben ist. Der Verantwortliche für die Datenverarbeitung ist Infermedica Sp. z o.o. (Plac Solny 14/3, 50-062 Wrocław, Polen, office@infermedica.com). Weitere Informationen zur Datenverarbeitung finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung oder bei unserem Datenschutzbeauftragten (dpo@infermedica.com).

Digital Front Doors for Healthcare Organizations — join our webinar with Microsoft and Walgreens

Case study

Médis and Infermedica: Reducing unnecessary urgent care visits with improved AI-powered Call Center Triage solution

Médis, the most recognized health insurer in Portugal, and Infermedica have established a partnership which resulted in the implementation of Infermedica’s Call Center Triage tool in Médis’ Clinical Contact Center. This partnership has allowed Médis to enhance their clients’ and nurses’ experience, and streamline operational processes, while Infermedica was able to improve the triage and recommendation capabilities of their Call Center Triage solution. The implementation has improved the interview process and prevented unnecessary urgent care visits and appointments.

About Médis

Médis has been on the market for more than 20 years and is part of the insurance holding Grupo Ageas Portugal. Complementing its health insurance products, Médis also offers additional services tailored to clients’ needs, emphasizing innovation and the use of modern technologies.

Médis’ mission is to provide clients with an outstanding experience that is relevant to their needs through its Personal Health Service®. The company offers an integrated system of medical facilities, including medical care, telemedicine, and online consultations, having successfully built a strong and integrated ecosystem.

  • 800,000 patients
  • 13,000 doctors
  • 100 hospitals
  • 750 pharmacies
  • 1,000 health and wellness partnerships
About Médis

Key challenges of the project

Médis

Médis’ vision is to be the client’s partner in care. With that in mind, the organization has been providing triage services to clients since the company began more than 20 years ago. It was also this vision that motivated the company to look for a more modern solution to the primary issues of the current triage system, tackling two main challenges.

  1. Need to improve user experience and efficiency

    Although the previous Médis Contact Center solution was reliable and clinically robust, it was starting to become technologically nearly obsolete, given its more than two decade of existence. In some cases, this was a considerable obstacle to making improvements and adapting the system to the needs of its users – the nurses in the Médis Clinical Contact Center. By improving the user experience, Médis could benefit from an increase in usage of the tool by nurses.

  2. Adaptation of clinical content and recommendations

    The previous Médis Contact Center solution was based on “decision trees” – a defined structure which complicated the process of updating the clinical content and recommendations. However, available knowledge is constantly changing, and it is important for a clinical triage solution to be able to adapt to these changes in an easy and seamless way.

Infermedica

Infermedica’s mission is to guide users to the best possible care. For this reason, the company strives to perfect the triage and recommendation capabilities of the platform. Infermedica also develops new functionalities, adjusting the product to client’s needs and allowing it to reach a wider audience of patients.

  1. Continuous perfection of algorithms

    Infermedica's solution is based on machine learning processes, so the algorithm learns over time. The support of a large partner with more than two decades of experience can accelerate this process. The cooperation with Medis enhanced the further improvement of Infermedica’s triage and recommendation capabilities, which was resultantly beneficial for both sides.

  2. Answering the call center needs

    Before the partnership with Medis, Infermedica’s solution was used mainly as a symptom checker for patients. The partnership with Medis allowed for a better understanding of telemedicine processes, developing additional functionalities, and adjusting the platform to the needs of medical call centers.

Key challenges

The solution: Call Center Triage

Infermedica’s Call Center Triage Platform is a powerful, cloud-based tool that uses Artificial Intelligence to help medical and non-medical consultants to direct clients to appropriate and cost-efficient care. The platform is customizable in terms of the triage logic and conversation protocol, so it can be applied in a variety of scenarios, including call centers and emergency departments. Because Call Center Triage is developed in cooperation with a medical team, it is able to provide reliable and verified results and recommendations.

The goals of Call Center Triage are as follows:

  • Assist call center nurses with the prompt and accurate triage of clients
  • Prevent unnecessary urgent care visits and appointments by recommending the most suitable health services
  • Detect urgent cases quickly
  • Standardize the triage interview process
The solution: Call Center Triage

Call Center Triage in use

As a result of the partnership between Médis and Infermedica, a new solution was developed and implemented in the Médis Clinical Contact Center. Powered by AI and machine learning, this solution helps Médis’ nurses throughout the triage flow, from symptom reports to clinical recommendations.

Results of the Call Center Triage implementation

Since initially implementing the system twelve months ago, Médis has applied Infermedica's solution in approximately 24,000 triage processes, with 99.4% of clients’ symptoms being covered by the tool. Call Center Triage allows for instant connectivity to other services provided by Médis and assists in providing care services adapted to the client’s needs (e.g. connection to the telemedicine service).

Comparison with clients’ initial intention before calling Médis Clinical Contact Center shows that the tool has prevented unnecessary urgent visits and increased the frequency of the self-care option. Additionally, the implementation of this new clinical triage solution has led to an improved experience for Médis nurses and clients.

17% 8%

Percentage of cases in which the client’s initial intention was to seek urgent care vs percentage of urgent care recommendations.

17% 35%

Percentage of cases in which the client’s initial intention was self-care vs percentage of self-care recommendations.

24,000

Number of triage processes completed with the use of Infermedica Call Center Triage.

99.4%

Percentage of all reported clients’ symptoms being covered by the tool.

quotation marks

One of the main advantages, compared to the previous solution, is that the Infermedica platform is dynamic. This means the system has a clinical update every 3 months, which makes it more and more accurate and improved with usage. Also, the solution has a solid clinical knowledge base, which is developed and constantly updated by Infermedica’s team of medical doctors.

Henrique Figueiredo

Innovation Project Manager at Grupo Ageas Portugal

Partnership outcomes

Implementation of technically improved solution

Thanks to the machine-learning capabilities of the new solution, the system improves over time, delivering more accurate suggestions and recommendations. Also, the new solution allows for an improved user experience for Médis nurses.

Extended triage and recommendation capabilities

The partnership with Médis allowed for Infermedica to increase the capability of its Call Center Triage solution to recommend the right actions for given symptoms. Infermedica's team enriched the database of risk factors, conditions and symptoms, with a special focus on pediatrics. During the project, Infermedica’s medical team, with the support of Médis, added and modified approximately 200 medical factors in the database, which is the heart and soul of Infermedica’s system.

Adaptation to unforeseen events

The project required the implementation team to adapt its activities and product to unforeseen events and circumstances. One of the necessities was to create a separate branch of services, the triage of pediatric cases, which was successfully created in partnership. Additionally, the solution had to be adapted so that it could be integrated with Médis’ current IT systems.

Our response to client needs

Testimonials

quotation marks

The Infermedica team has always been very proactive and flexible in order to adapt the solution to Médis needs. During the whole project, they always respected the established deadlines.

Also, we were positively surprised noticing how the team understands the specific issues of working with a big corporate, which means that sometimes deadlines have to be adapted and project’s scope is modified unexpectedly.

Henrique Figueiredo

Innovation Project Manager at Grupo Ageas Portugal

quotation marks

The project with Medis was a great adventure for us - cooperation with a company experienced in telemedicine solutions allowed us to look at our platform from a new perspective.

We are pleased with the results of introducing the Call Center Triage at Médis' Clinical Contact Center - preventing unnecessary emergency visits, improving the user experience of nurses and supporting the work of call center coordinators.

Piotr Kurkiewicz

Data Science Consultant at Infermedica

Medis testimonial

Do you need a similar solution?

Connect with our business team. We will walk you through our products and answer any questions you may have.

Schedule a call